Do You Speak A Secret Soul Language?

Yellow flowers are considered a symbol of purity, clarity, truth and wisdom.

Yellow flowers are considered a symbol of purity, clarity, truth and wisdom.

The world is filled with symbolism and when we look at it through enchanted eyes, we open ourselves up to a secret soul language that is rich and alive and magical.

It’s a language that is both foreign and native to us, and we access it through intuition, magical thinking, and a general willingness to move from rational, left-brained thinking into a place of exploration and infinite possibilities.

Have you ever considered the world is alive with mysterious messages just waiting to be decoded? What if the flowers around you were actually speaking to you? What if the birds you summoned with the feed you sprinkled on your lawn carried a message from the Divine? What if the dragonfly that landed at your feet had something special to communicate to you?

I know cyncial minds must be thinking right now….sometimes, a rose is just a rose.

But it’s not true. Roses carry symbolic messages. Even their color means something.

But, back to the birds. Lately, doves have been appearing in my backyard and I always take note. Doves are a symbol of peace so every time I see one, I am reminded to be peaceful. The dragonfly that landed near me yesterday was an encouraging message of hope and good fortune.

As I write this, I am listening to the gentle sound of water running through the fountain in my courtyard. It is soothing and cleansing and it reminds me in this moment that I need to relax; I’ve had a challenging few days and I needed to slow down and hear this message.

The courtyard is looking beautiful; yesterday my partner painted the stucco and trimmed the plants and it feels fresh, like a new start. We’ve been doing some painting and small repairs around the house and planting an herb garden with peppers, dill, oregano, lavender and rosemary, in the backyard.

I’d like to think these small repairs are a message to each other that we are committed to creating a nourishing home for one another, one where fresh starts are a possibility.

This is how the world of symbolism works. It’s a secret language, one you must work a little harder to interpret, but when you do, everything feels more magical, more sacred.

That’s the world I like to step into each and every day. A world where I hear my wind chimes singing good morning to me, a world where I feel greeted by peace-loving doves perched on my fence, a world where color and sound create a rainbow of possibilities for endless knowledge, secrets and hidden treasures.  If I’m willing to tune in and listen.

I’m learning this is  the way the Divine speaks to us. The soul, too. So if you want to learn this language, open up your eyes, ears and heart. Your soul is trying to talk to you in your dreams, intuitive hits and surroundings, and is being very creative in the sticky notes it leaves behind for you.

If you’re interested in more thoughts on integrity, compassion and grace, particularly at midlife, read my book Tao Flashes.  Or visit me at www.facebook.com/taoflashes or on twitter @taoflashes.

 

 

9 thoughts on “Do You Speak A Secret Soul Language?

  1. I am a big, big believer in symbols and signs. I also believe that loved ones who have passed away come to visit us – even if it’s just our subconscious – in the most amazing ways. My father visits in my dreams; my grandmother visits every time I see a butterfly in my backyard. Lovely post.

    • Isn’t it wonderful to get those messages? Sometimes I think there is a very thin veil that separates our world. I find it comforting and enchanting to live with this mindset. And next time I see a butterfly, I’ll think of you.

  2. Yes! There is so much more to life and our experience of it than what we can perceive with just our four senses. I feel incredibly fortunate when I can remember as much as possible to look beyond the obvious. We are indeed, all connected, and when we can tune into that vibration we hear amazing things. Thanks for the reminders! ~Kathy

  3. I believe that messages is all around us…the trick (and sometimes, hard part) is keeping our eyes and ears open enough to recognize them.

Leave a comment