How to End the Year with a Conscious Cleanse

blog pic1-1

If you listen carefully, if you really concentrate, you might hear the door closing on 2015. There is a vibration to endings, including the closing of a year.

Some of us are probably glad to see the year end. Some might want to slam that mother shut, board it and nail it for good measure.

But in the end, it doesn’t matter if the year ends with a whisper or a bang. It just matters that one ends it consciously. With mindfulness and reflection.

It’s a good time to do it. In between the sacred rituals of the holidays, and the glitter, sequins and excitement of the New Year, there is a pause. A space. It is a chance to catch our collective breath, and like a breath, it is there for us to draw new life.

This space is for soulful reflection, for a spiritual re-boot, for a conscious cleanse of the year.

Forget about losing 10 pounds in 2016. As hard as that might be, that’s the easy stuff. What about entering the year by losing that which did not serve you in 2015?

Maybe it’s a grudge. A jealous tendency. Or a habit you know you need to break. It is different for each of us. Did you have a mindset of lack that kept you feeling constricted all year? Try losing that.

Did you make choices that disempowered you in work or in your relationships? Did you take the safe or easy way out when a little risk taking may have better served your growth in 2015?

Think about it. Now, while there is a quiet space, a pause between the ending and the beginning of the year, to consciously cleanse yourself of what is no longer working. What needs to go, shift or change so you can welcome this new year with wild abandon, an open heart and crazy, wild-eyed optimism?

Now, think about what you gained throughout the year. Did you grow wings, gain confidence, expand in a new direction? Did you save money, learn a new skill, or walk away with a new perspective after trying something different? Have you grown, improved, emotionally, spiritually or financially?

Take some time and figure it out. Sit with a journal and write it all down. Write what worked, what didn’t. Don’t judge, just write.
Too much work, you say? I call bullshit on that. Do the work.

Then, and only then, once you have conciously considered 2015, the good, the bad, the ugly, can you effectively be cleansed and ready for a New Year. Because you can take that learning with you into the new year and set your priorities or intentions based on what you uncovered. 

Now, consider one more step. Ask yourself how you want to feel in 2016. Happy? Vibrant? Creative? Peaceful? Adventurous? Courageous? Secure? Take a page from Danielle LaPorte’s “The Desire Map” and set resolutions around your own core desired feelings. 

So that’s my advice for closing out the old and welcoming the new. I am starting the cleanse now. I hope you do it with me and enjoy a vibrant, healthy year–emotionally, physically and mentally-in 2016.

I would love it if you shared your learning and or intentions for the new year with me.

And if you’re interested in more thoughts on integrity, compassion and grace–if you’re looking for exploratory questions to unearth pieces of your soul, check out my book Tao Flashes. Or visit me at http://www.facebook.com/taoflashes or on twitter @taoflashes.

 

11 thoughts on “How to End the Year with a Conscious Cleanse

  1. Lisa, Thank you for this post. Here’s the quotes that spoke to me: ” It just matters that one ends it consciously. With mindfulness and reflection.” “Now, think about what you gained throughout the year.” “Then, and only then, once you have conciously considered 2015, the good, the bad, the ugly, can you effectively be cleansed and ready for a New Year. Because you can take that learning with you into the new year and set your priorities or intentions based on what you uncovered.”
    This has echoes of the Examen of Ignatius of Loyola.
    I’ll begin mining it on my bike ride.
    Thanks again.

  2. We were on same wavelength today:). I just posted a blog entry talking about my vision for 2016–the word is radiant. Easier for me to hold a vision and wrap my actions around that than make resolutions that feel like restrictions. Just a different mindset. Here’s to radiance and letting go of what doesn’t work!

    • Yes, I have been in reflection trying to choose the words best suited for me this year. I’ve got some thoughts I will share with you soon. Happy New Year, my friend–and I hope you are refreshed renewed and lit up for the entire year!

  3. I love the idea of being mindful of the year’s changing and making resolutions based on how I want to feel in the New Year. It’s especially helpful that I came upon this post right as I’m clearing out the old files in my drawers and on my computer, and laying my plans, dreams and goals for this coming year/quarter/month. Some good questions to think about.

Leave a Reply

