The Chi of Winter

blog pic1-1The days are shorter, darker, as winter begins to take up residence; time begins to shrink the hours into bite-sized pieces, and before long the days are all gobbled up and gone.

Like it or not, winter forces us into a different, more reflective energy.  Shorter days, colder temperatures push us indoors—inward even.

It’s the natural cycle of the season, and of our bodies. It is a time of rest, reflection.

The ancient Chinese believed that it was important to live in harmony with the natural cycles of the environment.  In Chinese medicine, winter is  considered Yin, feminine energy, and it’s the time to reflect on our health, replenish our energy, and conserve our strength.

It is a time  of calm, quiet and rest.

But with holiday chaos, winter is not always  calm or peaceful.  And finding time for spiritual or soul nourishment is not easy. At least it’s not for me.

The Sirens’ seductive cries are haunting, luring me with their sing song promise of bargains, items I don’t need or want but might buy–and they are hard to resist.

The tinsel, the glitter, the lights, distract me from my soul’s own light, and I quickly fall in to a trance, like a zombie, or a “walker,” like they call them on The Walking Dead.

Even now when I am trying to write something meaningful, I feel the itch, the burn to abandon these thoughts and head to the Mall. It’s just easier than sitting here with myself sometimes and listening to the sounds of an ordinary winter day shrink away, another day without answers.

It certainly is easier to turn on Property Brothers and marvel at the homes with 30-foot ceilings and marble floors instead of getting cozy with my own interior landscape.

Yes, the shorter days and winter cold make me more reflective. And I am not sure I like it. But who am I to argue with nature?

Just as my fireplace needs occasional cleaning, so does my soul sometimes require saging. So, today I’m skipping the Mall, the deep discounts, the mindless leeching of hours, and I’m going to sit here. With. My. Soul.

I’m going to go with nature. I’m going to go with(Y)in.

I invite you to do the same. To reflect, to investigate, to uncover, to recover. Winter is almost here….and it is a good time, the proper time, to prepare for the New Year, for Spring, for what’s next.

If you’re interested in more thoughts on integrity, compassion and grace–if you’re looking for  exploratory questions to unearth pieces of your soul, check out my book Tao Flashes. Or visit me at http://www.facebook.com/taoflashes or on twitter @taoflashes

10 thoughts on “The Chi of Winter

  1. I agree with Sharon. You always know what I need to hear, and I love hearing it from you. Thank you for being my spiritual sister. Let’s meditate. Let’s be mindful. Let’s be grateful. For everything.

  2. As always Lisa, well said and oh so true! My solution? I now live in a town with no mall and few shopping opportunities, so I will take the time to reflect on my health, body and spirit!
    Living in the now is my best place to be.

  3. Happy to say I skipped the mall, which is literally within a stone’s throw since I moved. But it was much more tempting to stay in my apartment and stay warm and cozy!

Leave a Reply

