The Natural Order of Things

file000325161223THERE IS A NATURAL FLOW to the universe just as there is an ebb to life. Sometimes things are working in our favor, and sometimes our world turns. One day we are feeling well and know we are gifted with abundance, and the next day our shadow appears and we see nothing but darkness.

Light does not exist without dark. Nor can you truly enjoy a beautiful day without having experienced stormy weather. The Tao teaches us that yin and yang exist in everything–and is necessary to balance all things.

We are all part of this earth. The seasons change, we grow old. There is a natural order. We must trust in this rhythm and know there is grace and purpose in it. And when we understand this, and relinquish our need for control, we find peace.

Maybe instead of working harder, it is time to relinquish some control. Grow quiet, and see what evolves in your life.

Journal Question: Are you in the flow of things or have you been fighting too hard to achieve something?

Affirmation: I know I am part of a larger universe and my life has purpose.

This blog entry is a sample chapter from my book Tao Flashes, A Woman’s Way to Navigating the Midlife Journey with Integrity, Harmony and Grace.

4 thoughts on “The Natural Order of Things

    • Sheryl, what a sweet thing to say about my posts. That’s one of the most meaningful things someone could say to me. Thank you. And yes, we women fight the clock …and we wear ourselves down with the coulds and the woulds and the shoulds. I’m trying to work on this myself…which is a big part of why I write about this!

  1. Love, love, love this. But that’s no surprise. I love your writing and the spirituality of Tao.

    We can’t feel the highs of life without experiencing the lows.

    The natural rhythms? By my age I should be used to it, but it’s too darn hard sometimes to let go…

Leave a Reply

