Beauty is Truth

“Beauty is truth, truth beauty,–that is all

Ye need to know on earth, and all ye need to know.” John Keats, Ode to a Grecian Urn

IMG_5721THERE IS BEAUTY IN TRUTH. Even when the truth is harsh and grey and I’d like to color it another way, I still see its beauty.

As I mature, I appreciate the truth and those who speak it with a native tongue. I’d prefer the truth to be served with civility and compassion…it is much prettier that way and easier to digest. I don’t care so much for the ranting and raving of those who profess to know the truth and walk away from their soap boxes convinced they’re treading on higher ground.

You know these people. But even in their self-righteousness, the ugly truth of divisiveness is reflected and revealed. And that in itself is a beautiful thing.

The truth is, as I see it anyway, often grey matter. My truth is mine and I can embrace it, hold it near, and know what it feels like, what it looks like, to me. Sometimes my truth appears in the form of goose bumps on my arms, and when it does, I know it’s a sign that what I’m feeling, seeing, sensing, is a message from my higher guidance; and what I’m hearing in that moment, is a whisper of truth. I listen closely to it.

I’ve told many a friend how I live and love in the grey….this is where my truth resides. And I’m comfortable there. But it can be a lonely place at times, especially when so many live in the black or the white.

Truth: Your truth might be different from mine.

But when we live in truth, we live in integrity, and we live in beauty. I believe truthfulness to one’s convictions, to one’s self, is beauty personified.

Beauty is truth, truth beauty. No truer words were ever spoken.

In my book Tao Flashes, I talk about how truth is strength, power. Take responsibility for your truth. Share it and guard it and know always, truth is the equivalent of integrity. It is your authentic self in dialogue with yourself.

Yes, beauty is truth, truth beauty.

Affirmation: I live in truth and take responsibility for my power.

If you’re interested in more thoughts on compassion and grace, particularly at midlife,  read my book Tao Flashes.  Or visit me at www.facebook.com/taoflashes or on twitter @taoflashes.

3 thoughts on “Beauty is Truth

  1. I have a problem – I have a hard time not telling the truth. A problem, sometimes, because people don’t often truly want to hear the truth. BUT…the way I handle it is not to say anything unless I am asked. If you ask me, then I’ll tell you – and it will be the truth.

    • Ha, this is very true! I often use the same tactic. I usually wait to be asked, but when I am, I share the truth as I see it. The good thing about this Sheryl is that people then come to know you as the person who tells the truth. And they seek you out on those occasions when they really do want to hear it. That’s been my experience. I also think telling the truth to ourselves is a tough thing. Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

