Friend, Gone Away

This is a hard journey,

This place, where black road

Bleeds into fog.

It’s hard to see in this stillness,

Harder to breathe

At speeds that steal tomorrows.

I’m not sure where the road snakes

Or pitches,

Here in the dark.

But I know now, you’re gone,

Gone away, gone for good,

Gone without good-byes.

Here in the dark,

It feels like midnight,

All the pulp drained from day.

I look for you,

A whisper of light,

My beacon, always my beacon,

Here in the dark.

Alone now, I drive this hard road.

 

This work is copyrighted and can not be duplicated or reprinted without permission from the author.

Leave a Reply

