When Life Forces You to be in The Moment

Life, and what it brings to us, is a mysterious thing. The truth is, we don’t know what any given day will bring, no matter our best efforts at scheduling or mapping out our hours.

For me, Friday was an ordinary fast-paced work day, complete with meetings and last minute to-dos. Getting sick wasn’t on my list. But Friday evening, while out to dinner, I started to feel ill. Proof: Anyone who knows me knows no glass of red wine set before me goes untouched, and yet  there sat a perfectly good glass of Merlot ignored.

I didn’t even make it home before the waves of naseau overtook me, and before I knew it, I was on all fours doing my best Linda Blair imitation while projectile vominting in a roadside ditch. Pardon my description, but it was the truth.

And humbling to say the least. The next day I spent in bed sick and achy and alone trying to recuperate. That too was humbling, feeling evey hair on my skin react as I turned from side to side to find a more comfortable spot. Everything was so quiet, and I was completely in the moment, focused on myself, on healing, and on the smallest of things, the sound of the wind chimes, the whooshing noise of the fan, the hum of a distant weed-eater at work.

No worries about my meetings on Monday, no disappointment about cancelled dinner plans to a fancy French restaurant Saturday night, no concern that my clothes weren’t getting washed, that my housework wasn’t getting done. It was just me, breathing through waves of intermittent pain.

I had to be still and silent and alone to remember that there are times in life when we need to put ourselves first. Times when our healing must come first. Times when we must remember to be completely in the moment and not focused on the future, or even the next five minutes.

As women, it is hard to stay in the moment. It is not uncommon for us to overdo, overstretch, overextend. Sometimes we are so busy doing, moving through life in our quest to accomplish the next task, we end up in a weakend state. Our strength is diminished and our spirits impoverished.

During these times, it is important to hold on to yourself, to your health, to your spirit. I was reminded of this message, reminded with the full force and weight of an all knowing universe that I believe has my best interests at heart.

So I’m going to slow down. Rest. And focus on getting well. . . and staying in the moment just a little bit more.

2 thoughts on “When Life Forces You to be in The Moment

Leave a Reply

